07.02.19 Leadership

Six Physicians Honored for Extraordinary Work

The AMA Foundation Excellence in Medicine Awards program annually recognizes physicians who exemplify the highest values of volunteerism, community engagement, leadership and dedication to the care of underserved populations. In June 2019, six outstanding physicians were honored with the following prestigious awards, which include a $2,500 honorarium to the charitable organization of their choice. To learn more about each award and nominate an outstanding physician you know, click here!

Laura Liberman, MD, FACR: Dr. Edmond and Rima Cabbabe Dedication to the Profession Award



Maurice Lee, MD, MPH, FAAFP: Dr. Debasish Mridha Spirit of Medicine Award

Lee at work


Susan Sordoni, MD: Jack B. McConnell, MD Award for Excellence in Volunteerism


Sordoni and Shonk

Robert N. Peck, MD: Dr. Nathan Davis International Award in Medicine


Pedro J. Greer, Jr., MD, FACP, FACG: Pride in the Profession Award


Greer award

Richard Allen Williams, MD: Humanitarian Award

Williams Event


Read our stories

Submit your story

Tell your own story