07.10.19 Leadership

Welcoming our second Leadership Development Institute cohort

The AMA Foundation is pleased to introduce the 2019/2020 Leadership Development Institute class. These nine students are participating in a year-long professional development program designed to prepare them to be future leaders in medicine. We welcomed the following students to Chicago earlier this year to kick-off the year in conjunction with the AMA’s ChangeMedEd program:

  • Nina Gummadi, Boston University School of Medicine
  • Caroline Hensley, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
  • Tyrone Johnson, University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine
  • Michael Kochis, Harvard Medical School
  • Patrick Lowe, University of Massachusetts Medical School
  • Sheyla Medina, Brown University Warren Alpert Medical School
  • Avani Patel, University of Mississippi School of Medicine
  • Alexandra Willauer, Texas Tech University, Paul L. Foster School of Medicine
  • Evan Zhang, University of Massachusetts Medical School

First-year participant, Luis Seija, MD, had this to say about his experience, “This is a program that invests in individuals and their
potential, as well as identifies their capacity for leadership within their own communities. This is nurtured through a year-long curriculum that includes mentorship and professional development opportunities such as workshops in interpersonal communication and leadership. Through this I’ve gained a better understanding of my role as a future physician in the service of others.”

Participants are paired with experienced and currently practicing physician leaders to serve as mentors throughout the year. Through monthly meetings and conversations, participants receive personal career consultation and guidance while expanding professional networks. Applications for the 2020-2021 cohort will be available online beginning in April, 2020. If you or someone you know is interested in applying, visit our website to learn more.

The 2019-2020 Leadership Development Institute is made possible, in part, through support provided by the Indiana Honor Fund, Council on Legislation Honor Fund, and PhRMA.


Read our stories

Submit your story

Tell your own story